Oscar received his bachelor's degree in Percussion Performance from the Mexico State Conservatory of Music, where he graduated with an Honorable Mention. His instructor, and guide during his artistic education was Professor Jose Luis Barquera G. Percussionist with the Mexico State Symphony Orchestra.  In the year 2000, Oscar began to take summer workshops and master classes in different educational institutions such as McGill Conservatory of Music in Montreal Canada, with instructor Pierre Janh, Juilliard School of Music with instructor Daniel Druckman, Christopher S. Lamb, and Roland Kohloff, musician with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2000 he becomes part of the percussion section with the Queretaro State Philharmonic Orchestra, and in 2002 is promoted to Timpanist in the same orchestra.

In 2005, Oscar was awarded a state grant by the State Circuit of Culture and Arts which he used to sponsor Marimba concerts throughout the state of Queretaro. His enthusiasm and passion for jazz, led him to form "The Small Band" in February of 2006where he performs on the vibraphone. The Small Band has performed in many important cultural festivals in the state of Queretaro, as well as in other status throughout Mexico.

In 2006, Oscar received a state grant through the Artistic Production Support Program of the Cultural and Artistic Institute of Queretaro, with which he creates a series of arrangements of Mexican music, and supports Mexican composers by offering a series of marimba concerts featuring great Mexican composers, who have enriched Mexican culture, and left a powerful musical legacy.

He has played as soloist performing Paul Creston´s Concert for Marimba and Orchestra ; William Kraft´s concert for Timpani and Orchestra (premier in México); Claude Bolling´s Suite for a Jazz Trio and Orchestra; the premier in Latinoamérica for the Concert No. 1 for Marimba and Orquesta by Nebojza J. Zivkovic and most recently the Timpani Concert by John Beck and the Concert for Multi-percussion by Darius Milhaud March 26th 2010.